Events

Menu
"What she does should be happening every week of the year" The Guardian

Tour Dates
& Booking

Sat 21 Mar 2020
5:00PM
GATESHEAD
Tue 24 Mar 2020
7:30PM
BRADFORD
Fri 03 Apr 2020
8:00PM
LONDON
Thu 30 Apr 2020
8:00PM
READING
Tue 05 May 2020
8:00PM
EXETER
Sat 09 May 2020
7:30PM
BRISTOL
Fri 22 May 2020
7:30PM
BURY ST EDMUNDS
Thu 02 Jul 2020
1:00PM
HARWICH
Sun 16 Aug 2020
5:00PM
Dartington
Fri 16 Oct 2020
7:30PM
MANCHESTER
Tue 20 Oct 2020
7:30PM
BRIGHTON
Sat 24 Oct 2020
7:30PM
CARDIFF

In response to the current evolving COVID-19 situation, we are working with Sarah Nicolls and venues and hope to offer a digital alternative to 12 Years ticket bookers. 

Acclaimed pianist and composer Sarah Nicolls' new Inside-Out Piano project 12 Years was inspired by the 2018 IPCC Special Report that said we had just 12 years to radically change our behaviour to save the planet.

With her striking vertical grand piano, Nicolls combines original music and recorded speech in a compelling performance. Piano melodies and textures interweave with phone calls between three fictional characters challenging each other to either worry less or do more. We hear from environmental experts, survivors escaping from a wildfire and a glacier melting, eloquent speeches from Greta Thunberg and finally the sound of hope emerging.

Sarah and leading climate scientists/activists local to each venue invite audiences to share thoughts and possible actions in a post show chat. 

See list of speakers below.

“This should be prescribed viewing/watching/listening for anyone even remotely concerned with the welfare of our planet.” Ciaran Ryan, Galway Jazz Festival

#12yearspiano

12 Years speakers:
GATESHEAD - Prof Hayley J Fowler / Newcastle University
BRADFORD – Paul Rodgers / Bradford University
LONDON –  Anna Hughes / Flightfree2020
READING – Prof. Ed Hawkins / Show Your Stripes
EXETER –Prof. Richard Betts MBE / MET Office 
BRISTOL – Richard D Pancost and Jo House / Cabot Institute
BURY ST EDMUNDS – Rupert Read / Extinction Rebellion
HARWICH – Dean Bell / UK’s first UN-accredited climate change teacher
MANCHESTER – Prof. Julia Steinberger / University of Leeds
CARDIFF – Dr. Liz Bagshaw / Cardiff School of Earth and Sciences

Artwork: Kate Dressekie

Read more

12 Years | Sarah Nicolls

Other tours you may like